NatWest t20 Blast 2017 – 2018

The NatWest T20 Blast is a cricket league based in England and Wales. Since 2014, it has been operated by ECB. The league consists of the 18 first-class county teams (English Countries) divided into two divisions of nine teams each. This team format replaced the Friends Life twenty 20 competition. As a result, The NatWest T20 Blast is the main domestic Twenty20 competition played in England and Wales.

NatWest twenty 20 t20 Blast logo

NatWest t20 Blast Wiki

The first official Natwest t20 blast matches were played on 13 June 2003, between the English counties in the Natwest t20 blast. The first season of Twenty20 in England was a success, with the Surrey Lions defeating the Warwickshire Bears by nine wickets in the final to claim the Natwest t20 blast.

NatWest became the tournament sponsors in 2014, renewing a longstanding relationship the bank has had with the county game. The first year of the tournament saw 700,000 spectators attend the games, the most since the first year. The tournament was won in 2014 by the Birmingham Bears

The semi-finals and final of the competition are played consecutively on the same day and at the same ground, at the end of the competition. During finals day, there is a mascot derby, which is a race between mascots representing all 18 counties. Finals day is usually held at Edgbaston.